Waltzing Fans Shawl

Waltzing Fans shawl

Waltzing fans shawl

I made this pretty shawl out of wool ‘worsted’ thread from The Handweaver’s Studio I think it could equally be made from lace weight yarn without any problems and would be larger and more of a shawl rather than perhaps a shawlette!

I used 50g of the thread which wasn’t marked for meterage. I couldn’t say I’m afraid how much lace weight you would need. I’m going to guess at 100-150g and hide behind the sofa when you throw missiles at me for getting it wrong.

If you make this pattern in laceweight yarn please let me know what meterage you used in the comments!

EDIT: I also used a 2mm hook.

I call it the waltzing fans because the edge of the shawl has a ripple on it like dancers rising and falling as they waltz round the ballroom.

It is based on the fan stitch octagon from Melody Griffiths’ 201 Crochet Motifs Blocks Projects and Ideas but only half the round is completed before turning and the pattern is expanded with a pretty edging.

Instructions as follows:

Notation British. ch= chain, dc= double crochet, tr= treble, sl st= slip stitch, sp= space, [] repeat direction in brackets as directed, fan = 3tr 1ch 3tr

Make 8ch. Sl st in 1st ch to form a ring.

R1. 4ch [3tr in ring 1ch] 7 times. 2tr in ring. sl st in 3rd ch

R2. Sl st in 1st sp. 4ch 3tr in same sp.  [1ch make fan in next sp] 3 times.  1ch 3tr in next sp 1ch 1tr in same sp. ch4 turn.

R3. 3tr in ch1 sp. [1ch 1tr in next sp, 1ch 1fan in next space] 3 times. 1ch 1tr in next sp, 1ch 3tr in next sp 1ch 1tr in same sp. ch4 turn. (1 tr between each fan)

R4. 3tr in ch1 sp. *[1ch 1tr in next sp] twice  1ch 1fan in next space repeat section from* 3 times. [1ch 1tr in next sp] twice, 1ch 3tr in next sp 1ch 1tr in same sp. ch4 turn. (2 tr between each fan)

R5-R12. As for R3 and R4 Start each row 3tr in ch1 sp. Alternate 1ch 1tr across between each fan or edging. Each tr to be worked into the ch1 sp below. Between each fan or edging (half fan) the number of times you [1ch 1tr] increases  by 1 with each row i.e. for R5 there are 3 tr between each fan for R6 there are 4tr between each fan etc. Fans should always line up and be worked into the ch1 sp of the fan below. Count carefully it is easy to miss a tr into the spaces next to fans. At the end of each row work 3tr into final sp 1ch 1tr into same sp. 4ch and turn.

First few rows of the shawl

First few rows of the shawl

You should have between each fan:

R5.  [1ch 1tr] 3 times and 1ch

R6. [1ch 1tr] 4 times and 1ch

R7. [1ch 1tr] 5 times and 1ch

R8. [1ch 1tr] 6 times and 1ch

R9. [1ch 1tr] 7 times and 1ch

R10. [1ch 1tr] 8 times and 1ch

R11. [1ch 1tr] 9 times and 1ch

R12. [1ch 1tr] 10 times and 1ch

R13. 3tr in ch1 sp. *[1ch 1tr in next sp] 6 times 1ch 1tr in same sp [1ch 1tr in next sp] 5 times, 1ch 1fan in next space, repeat section from * 3 times. [1ch 1tr in next sp] 6 times 1ch 1tr in same sp [1ch 1tr in next sp] 5 times, 1ch 3tr in final sp 1ch 1tr in same sp. ch4 turn.

R14. 3tr in ch1 sp. *[1ch 1tr in next sp] 5 times 1ch sk 1 sp, 1fan in 2nd sp, [1ch 1tr in next sp] 5 times, 1ch 1fan in next space,

repeat section from * 3 times. [1ch 1tr in next sp] 5 times 1ch sk 1 sp, 1fan in 2nd sp, [1ch 1tr in next sp] 5 times, 1ch 3tr in final sp 1ch 1tr in same sp. 4ch and turn.

R15 – R23. Begin each row 3tr in ch1 sp. *Work [1ch 1tr in next sp] across to next fan. Fan in next fan sp. Repeatfrom *  across row until edging is reached end each row with 3tr in final sp 1ch 1tr in same sp, 4ch turn.

You should have between each fan or edging section:

R15. [1ch 1tr] 6 times and 1ch

R16. [1ch 1tr] 7 times and 1ch

R17. [1ch 1tr] 8 times and 1ch

R18. [1ch 1tr] 9 times and 1ch

R19. [1ch 1tr] 10 times and 1ch

R20. [1ch 1tr] 11 times and 1ch

R21. [1ch 1tr] 12 times and 1ch

R22. [1ch 1tr] 13 times and 1ch

R23. [1ch 1tr] 14 times and 1ch

R24. 3tr in ch1 sp. *[1ch 1tr in next sp] 8 times 1ch 1tr in same sp [1ch 1tr in next sp] 7 times, 1ch 1fan in next space, repeat section from * 7 times. [1ch 1tr in next sp] 8 times 1ch 1tr in same sp [1ch 1tr in next sp] 7 times, 1ch 3tr in final sp 1ch 1tr in same sp. ch4 turn.

R25. 3tr in ch1 sp. *[1ch 1tr in next sp] 7 times 1ch sk 1 sp, 1fan in 2nd sp, [1ch 1tr in next sp] 7 times, 1ch 1fan in next space, repeat section from * 7 times. [1ch 1tr in next sp] 7 times 1ch sk 1 sp, 1fan in 2nd sp, [1ch 1tr in next sp] 7 times, 1ch 3tr in final sp 1ch 1tr in same sp. 4ch turn.

R26 – R33. Begin each row 3tr in ch1 sp. *Work [1ch 1tr in next sp] across to next fan. Fan in next fan sp. Repeat from * across row until edging is reached end each row with 3tr in final sp 1ch 1tr in same sp, 4ch turn.

You should have between each fan or edging section:

This pattern really needs blocking

This pattern really needs blocking

R26. [1ch 1tr] 8 times and 1ch

R27. [1ch 1tr]9 times and 1ch

R28. [1ch 1tr] 10 times and 1ch

R29. [1ch 1tr] 11 times and 1ch

R30. [1ch 1tr] 12 times and 1ch

R31. [1ch 1tr] 13 times and 1ch

R32. [1ch 1tr] 14 times and 1ch

R33. [1ch 1tr] 15 times and 1ch

R34 As for R26-33 but only 1ch at end. Turn.

R35. Dc to end of row. Ch4 turn.

R36-38 See diagram.

Any questions or clarifications please let me know in the comments and I will try to sort you out as soon as possible. Enjoy!


14 Comments on “Waltzing Fans Shawl”

  1. Cathy says:

    Thanks for the great pattern Martha! I am planning on making this out of a nice linen thread I have. Do you remember what size of hook you used on this pattern?

  2. Lynn May says:

    Lovely shawl – thanks for posting the pattern.

  3. John says:

    Just a note to say thanks for the free pattern… I like to do that when I come across such things from a real person. Of course a part of me knows every pattern has a creator, but names and contact info aren’t always at hand. In the interest of truth I suppose I should say I am rather compelled to send these notes, my Dear Old Sainted Mother was rather a stickler for thank you notes, and promised me a good old fashion haunting should I fail. I’m inclined to believe her, to my knowledge she only lied to me once, and that at about the age of three; she told me, strait faced, the fried green tomatoes she set before me was meat with seeds. I didn’t fall for the ploy; I was three, not stupid. John

  4. Diana says:

    Hi John,

    I love your free pattern for the waltzing fams shawl. I would like to know from what I see that the shawl can be made longer. I like longer shawls because when looking from the back, to me the shawl is a work of art in its design. Can this be done with this pattern?

    • quincetart says:

      Hi Diana

      You could make the pattern as long as you like but you would have to add a different edging as the edge charted above has been designed for the number of stitches you would have after 35 rows.

      I hope that helps.

      QT aka Martha

      • Diana says:

        QT aka Martha, Thanks you very much, That does answer my question. The edging I can always decide later.

      • Donna Rubin says:

        As long as you had 16 [DC, CH1] spaces between your fans this edging would still work.

  5. Melissa says:

    I love the pattern so far. I am using fingering weight yarn with a 2.75mm hook.
    Can you tell me what the written pattern is for row 36-38? I am nearing the end and I do not know how to read picture diagrams. Thank you.

    • quincetart says:

      Hi Melissa

      I wrote the chart out because I felt that this was the clearest way to explain the pattern. I offer these patterns for free as my hobby and I work full time and can’t spend a lot of my time on writing out instructions in multiple formats.

      However this tutorials is helpful for learning how to read a chart.

      http://www.mypicot.com/how_to01.html

      And here’s a video tutorial on charts which I think you might also find nice and clear:

      I hope that helps.

      Best wishes QT

  6. Donna Rubin says:

    I think I found a mistake in your pattern. Row 35 says to DC to the end but your picture shows SC.


Leave a comment