Hopefulness Scarf Pattern

Hopefulness scarf

Hopefulness scarf

This scarf was designed for a lovely friend of mine who has had some truly horrible times lately. Somehow she remains one of the sunniest people I know. I have been very affected by her courage and ability to look to the future.

I used one skein of Malabrigo lace to make this scarf i.e. just under 430m and a 2.25mm hook (US size B I think). I strongly suggest that you choose a solid colour yarn to make this scarf. Or at least a semi-solid with only a small amount of variation in depth and a single hue. The stitch pattern will be lost in a heavily  variegated yarn.

The finished project, once blocked, is approximately 150cm long and 30cm wide.

The pattern is deceptive. While it uses simple techniques and only four stitches, it is not easy to memorise and you will probably need to use the chart the whole way through. I did!

The stitches used in the chart are chain stitches, UK triple/ US double, UK triple two together /US double two  together. The edge  pattern which I have written out below also uses UK half treble/US half double crochet stitches. From now on I will use US notation.

Hopefulness Scarf detail

Hopefulness Scarf detail

The pattern is worked in two halves from the middle of the scarf outwards.

I apologise that this is a hand-drawn chart that I’ve scanned in. I have done my best to make it clear and easy to read but if anyone struggles I am very sorry.

Chain 74 stitches. This is the foundation chain. The first turning chain (shown on the chart) is not included in this number.

(An aside: The pattern repeat is 24 stitches wide. So to make the scarf wider or narrower chain a multiple of 24 plus 2.)

Then work according to the chart, starting with the turning chain of three.

My pattern testers suggested that placing a stitch marker after each repeat helped them to stay on track with the pattern.

Please note that the pattern looks neatest if you work the double crochets into the tops of the relevant chain stitches instead of around the chains. I know it’s quicker to work around the chain but it looks really sharp if you actually work into the stitches.

Another point to mention is that if you are working the chart correctly the double crochet stitches should create smoothly curving vertical lines. Please click on the detail picture above to see what I mean.

After working the chart twice through, work the edge.

Modelling the Hopefulness Scarf

Modelling the Hopefulness Scarf

Edge pattern:

1. Chain 2, work a row of half double crochets.

2. & 3. Chain 3, 3 doubles, *2 chain, skip 2 stitches, work a double crochet in each of the next 2  stitches, repeat from * until the last 4 stitches which are all doubles.

Repeat rows 1-3 then repeat row 1 as the final row. Bind off and weave in ends.

Attach the yarn to the reverse of the foundation chain and begin again with the chart.

To download the chart* click here: HopefulnessScarfChart

The scarf really benefits from blocking to straighten out the edges and open up the lace.

I hope you enjoy making this pattern.

For a variation, have a look at the chart. It is divided into two sections. If you just repeat the first section, instead of alternating with section two, you will also get a pretty lace but this time the arches will stack on top of each other instead of being offset like scales.

Thank you for reading, please send me comments or questions.

Special thanks to my volunteer pattern testers, Ravelry members: kimothy76, jacquimorse, Mshanane, SmallCrochet, AnarchyCox, wlindboe, lorithetrainer, ManicBeach, yarnedaround and funisinstyle.

*Extra super special thanks to Aparna Rolfe for making a professional quality chart for me on her pattern drawing software to replace my scruffy hand-drawn one. Her designs on Ravelry are well worth checking out by clicking her name. Lovely, stylish, contemporary  work.

11 Comments on “Hopefulness Scarf Pattern”

  1. [...] latest project is my rendition of Hopefulness Scarf, a new pattern by Quince Tart.  It is a easy yet complex design, requiring a decent amount of [...]

  2. 玉芳 says:

    My god it looks amazing!!

  3. dana pallessen jungwirth says:

    the chart could be eaier to read. i do like how lovely the scarf is however.

  4. Adam Kaplan says:

    Love this!

    I work with AllFreeCrochet and have been trying to contact you. Please email me if there is a good way to reach you. Thanks!

    Adam Kaplan
    akaplan@primecp.com

    • quincetart says:

      Sorry Adam. You will note my post at the front of the blog about not being as assiduous a crafter at present as I have been.So I’ve not checked my blog email for a while. I’ll get on that.

  5. Meghan says:

    I’m still a bit of noob to crochet – I’ve done your Sweet Eleanor scarf, twice, for gifts, and am finally making the Hopefulness scarf for myself. I have a question: what do you mean by working stitches into the “relevant chain stitches” instead of working around them? Could you point out some relevant chain stitches? (row #, # of stitches in from the pattern edge) for notation, maybe? Thank you.

    • quincetart says:

      Hi Meghan

      That’s a completely sensible non-noob question.

      Have a look at rows 7 and 8. The 3rd and 4th stitches of row 8 are worked into the chain stitches directly below them in row 7. These are the last two chain stitches in row 7.

      You could work these two row 8 stitches by yarning over, then inserting your hook into the big loop created by the last three chain stitches in row 7 and then yarning over and drawing up a loop and wrapping the stitch around the whole chain.

      That would be a normal way to work this pattern. It would look fine but it would leave the bottom of those two stitches free to wander up and down the chain because they wouldn’t be attached to any particular chain stitch.

      By actually inserting the hook into the specific chain stitch marked on the chart and working into that, you fix the stitches at both ends and the pattern is more clearly visible.

      I hope that makes sense!

      QT

      PS I’m very flattered that you like my patterns enough to make three items from them!

      • Meghan says:

        Thanks for your input. I hadn’t realized the shortcut way existed so I guess the suggested technique would have been my default.

        Your patterns are great because they are simple, elegant, and beautiful. I like yarn and fiber work, but not the fussiness of a lot of the designs.

        I think this scarf will go much faster than the SE pattern. I would have made a third Sweet Eleanor, but the almost endless single crochet stitches were too much. Maybe someday. After this scarf I would like to learn to knit as well.

      • quincetart says:

        Oh… well… thanks… *blush*… I try!

        Are you on Ravelry? There are some nice designs on there. An increasing number in fact. The longer I crochet the more I also value paid for patterns too. Especially those that have actually been past a technical editor.

        I wouldn’t make another Sweet Eleanor. I know I designed it, but I completely understand anyone who says it’s dull to make!

  6. baterista9 says:

    Came across this while surfing for something else, bookmarked it for possible religious stole. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers